Subhashitam

न मे पार्थास्ति कर्तव्यं त्रिषु लोकेषु किंचन |
नानवप्तंमवाप्तव्यं वर्त एव च कर्मणि ||

There is nothing in the three worlds , O Partha , that has
to be done by Me , nor is there anything unattained that
should be attained by me ; yet , I engage myself in action.

यदि ह्यहं न वर्तेयं जातु कर्मण्यतंद्रित : |
मम वर्त्मानुवर्तन्ते मनुष्या : पार्थ सर्वश : ||

For , should I not ever engage in action , without
relaxation , men would in every way follow my path,
O son of Pritha .

उत्सीदेयुरिमे लोका न कुर्यां कर्म चेदहं |
संकरस्य च कर्ता स्यामुपहन्यामिमा : प्रजा : ||

If I ever cease to act , these worlds would perish ; nay,
I should prove to be the cause of confusion , and of the
destruction of these people.

Leave a Reply

